The Downsides Of Dressing Vintage

25 Mar

Roxy Vintage Style Downsides of Vintage DressingDress from Stop Staring, cardigan from Untold at House Of Fraser

Much as I love my retro wardrobe, there are some problems with dressing vintage.

1. With all the tight-fitting clothes and foundation garments to keep you bulge-free, it can be difficult to move.

2. Or pee.

3. Or breathe. Marilyn Monroe probably only spoke in a baby voice because her dress was too tight to properly respire.

4. You can’t run for the bus in your heels. Is this why glamorous women are so often late? Glamorous women don’t take the bus, you say? Me and my Oyster card beg to differ. And anyway, you can’t run for a taxi either. Or drive. Have you tried changing gears in stilettos?

5. It’s expensive. Especially since vintage became all the rage. It’s no longer thrifty to shop at a thrift store. Which makes me sad. And poor.

6. It’s a faff. The details of the vintage look are part of its charm. But keeping your seams straight and your eyeliner flicks symmetrical requires constant checks in the mirror. We vintage girls aren’t vain, we’re just complicated.

7. It’s a sad fact that many of the world’s prettiest dresses stink. Vintage clothes had a life before they met you. A lot of them have been around longer than you and may never have taken a bath.

8. Vintage clothes are fragile. It’s not a good look when your new-old ensemble starts to fall apart. While you’re wearing it.

9. Some people might assume that because you’re a fan of mid-century fashion you’re also a fan of mid-century sexism. Are you serious? The only thing I want oppressed is my waistline.

10. You can’t walk in a pencil skirt. You have to wiggle. You can’t sit. You perch. And one thing you definitely can’t do… is breathe out.

6 Responses to “The Downsides Of Dressing Vintage”

  1. Glamourous Traveller March 25, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    Deff. I love vintage clothes, but my vintage skirt is starting to unravel from wear :S

    • roxybourdillon March 25, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Oh no! It’s heartbreaking when that happens. Hopefully you can repair it or take it to a seamstress? Otherwise it might unravel completely when you’re wearing it one day!

  2. petasvintageblog March 25, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    This did make me giggle as I can relate so well but nothing will stop my l
    Absolute obsession with vintage!

    • roxybourdillon March 25, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks, I’m glad it made you giggle. And I’m very glad to hear you won’t let anything stop your obsession, you vintage warrior! Me neither!

  3. fatimaxberg May 25, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Point 4 – Well, actually, you can. It’s all a question of training I guess – and you need properly-fitting high heels. I’ve been running after buses and trains in stilettos since I was a sixteen year old obsessed with Betty Page…

    • roxybourdillon May 25, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      That’s fabulous that you’re so accomplished in your heels. I wear mine every day and still the best I can manage is an emergency canter!

Leave a comment