I would like to introduce you to what I’ll be wearing this Christmas.

22 Dec

Roxy Vintage Style 1950s kimono

kimono and nightgown are both vintage, satin shoes by Lotus

While many of you will be enjoying/enduring a family gathering on the 25th, I’ll be getting pissed on Prosecco with my beautiful friend, Shari. We were at a vintage fair when we came up with this plan. Pumped with adrenaline about the prospect of celebrating Jesus’ bday with no turkey, relatives or restraint, our eyes were simultaneously drawn to a stunning selection of original 1950s kimonos, reduced to clear. Surely this was fashion fate, some kind of materialistic Christmas miracle. We bought one each and our dresscode was decided; epic loungewear. I was so excited I pretended to be an aeroplane.

Roxy Vintage Style kimono sleeves

I can’t resist the unapologetic glamour of a great big, flowing kimono. You can swan around your living room feeling like an empress even though your only empire consists of your mirror and your ego. This one is particularly gorgeous with its hand painted flowers and dramatic sleeves, massive enough to store all your fabulousness.

Here I am, practicing my lounging in preparation for a Kimono Christmas.

Roxy Vintage Style kimono chaise longue

6 Responses to “I would like to introduce you to what I’ll be wearing this Christmas.”

  1. Frivolous Monsters December 22, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    Hope you both have fun.
    FM

  2. Pink Haired Princess December 22, 2014 at 9:44 pm #

    Utterly fabulous!

  3. Denny Sinnoh December 23, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    I’m loving that kimono ANY day of the year! : )
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment